International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON) world wide organization, which is a non profit, social welfare & spiritual organization engaged in propagating the teachings & values of the great ancient literatures of our Vedic heritage. It was founded in 1966 in New York City by A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada, dedicated for promoting individual and global peace, harmony and prosperity by spreading the message of divine love and fraternity given in the Vedic texts of ancient India. Since then the organization, has brought spiritual joy, integrity and dignity to the lives of millions of people worldwide through it’s over 700 branches. The distinctive appearance of the movement and its culture come from the Gaudiya Vaishnava tradition, which has had adherents in India since the late 1400s and Western converts since the early 1930s. ISKCON today is a worldwide confederation of more than 700 centers, including 60 farm communities, some aiming for self-sufficiency, 50 schools and 90 restaurants.

Main article: Hare Krishna (mantra)

The popular nickname of “Hare Krishnas” for devotees of this movement comes from the mantra that devotees sing aloud or chant quietly on tulsi beads, called Japa mala. This mantra, known also as the Maha Mantra, contains the names of God Krishna and Rama. Devotees believe that the sound vibration created by repeating these names of God gradually revives a state of pure God-consciousness, or “Krishna consciousness.

The Maha Mantra:

Hare Krishna Hare Krishna

Krishna Krishna Hare Hare

Hare Rama Hare Rama

Rama Rama Hare Hare


Seven purposes of ISKCON

To systematically propagate spiritual knowledge to society at large and to educate all people in the techniques of spiritual life in order to check the imbalance of values in life and to achieve real unity and peace in the world.

To propagate a consciousness of Krishna, as it is revealed in the Bhagavad-gita and the Srimad-Bhagavatam.

To bring the members of the Society together with each other and nearer to Krishna, the prime entity, thus to develop the idea within the members, and humanity at large, that each soul is part and parcel of the quality of Godhead (Krishna).

To teach and encourage the sankirtana movement, congregational chanting of the holy names of God as revealed in the teachings of Lord Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu.

To erect for the members, and for society at large, a holy place of transcendental pastimes, dedicated to the personality of Krishna.

To bring the members closer together for the purpose of teaching a simpler and more natural way of life.

With a view towards achieving the aforementioned purposes, to publish and distribute periodicals, magazines, books and other writings.


Four regulative principles

Srila Prabhupada prescribed four regulative principles, in relation to the four legs of dharma, as the basis of the spiritual life:

No eating of meat, fish or eggs (lacto-vegetarianism)

No illicit sex

No gambling

No intoxication (including alcohol, caffeine, tobacco and other recreational drugs).


Book Publications.

Agricultural Projects

Temple building Programs.

Poor funding (FFL)

Gurukul School

Cow Protection.

Preaching Programs

Cultural Projects

Gita course for children.

Nitya puja.

Youth preaching.

School and college preaching.

Sunday school.

Temple festivals and Ratha yatra.

The four legs of Dharma are:

Daya: Mercy

Tapas: Self-Control or Austerity

Satyam: Truthfulness

Saucam: Cleanliness of body and mind